News:

Registered a URL and setup a forum as the IPCam stuff really needed its own site vs my irregular blog posts about IPCam hacking at http://www.computersolutions.cn/blog

Author Topic: In over my head/dumb questions  (Read 616 times)

• No avatar
July 05, 2017, 01:55:27 am
Hi guys,
I'm delighted to have discovered this forum recently as I'm expecting the arrival of a 32x32mm 720P IP camera tomorrow featuring the Hi3518E (https://www.alibaba.com/product-detail/720P-CMOS-Onivf-IP-module-H_60352228981.html).

I've read this is a popular configuration to access and hack the linux OS.   Unfortunately this is one part of a much larger project and I'm a terrible programmer only just getting familiar with Linux itself.  My focus has always been on mechanical items, but I'm familiar enough with electronics- this is still very new territory for me.  So apologies in advance for any ignorant questions.

1. The system that controls this camera will have two sets of coordinates for it's 2 axis gimbal system.
2. Self-contained values for X & Z axis motors, I say self contained because values need not come from the Ethernet port, but rather from a MPU6050 sensor or similar, so yes- it will be trying to level itself out continuously.
3. The other set of values WILL need to come from the ethernet connection and they will constitute an offset value so that the camera can be driven to move from the other (leveling) values.

I realize that it is almost certain that I will need a separate microcontroller to handle this, but I thought that maybe at least the 2nd set of values could come through the IP camera board since it will already be networked, and will require negligible bandwidth, and I could thusly avoid all the complication of adding a separate board, ethernet hub/switch etc. etc. only to get a few PWM signals in there.  Space is at a premium for this application.