News:

Did you know - Google aren't very nice.  Apparently we're all evil pirates here on OpenIPCam, and they cancelled my adsense account due to that.  Sigh.

Author Topic: GM8125EL - board stopped working  (Read 3565 times)

• No avatar
May 19, 2014, 07:53:19 am
Hi everyone,
   i am new here, but i have been looking through the forum for a week or so now just checking stuff out.

I have been playing with a IP camera i bought, it is a Swann ADS-460 http://www.swann.com/us/swads-460camwhich is a re-branded camera, both hardware and software re-branded LiveIPC software, it uses SIP to communicate with a US server then some how connects me to my local network. As swanns software is crap and has hardly any useful features. My mission was to grab the video feed and use it with an opensource video surveillance to use around my home.

I couldn't find much info on the internet about the firmware or software of the device, no URL's seem to work for a video feed, i started learning how the camera actually works. I tried using wire-shark to sniff packets, finding no useful info out of the results. I downloaded a copy of the manufactures firmware update and i extracted the files on a virtual machine linux distro to see if i could find any clues on the video feed, but the firmware update did not have much to tell.

Learning the camera has linux on it, i bought a FT232R breakout board. I connected the board to the usb to serial device using 3.3v, tx, rx, gnd. i connected them to the part i have circled in the picture below.