News:

Did you know - OpenIPCam has an Extensive files section of firmware, utilities and developer tools - http://www.openipcam.com/files

Author Topic: Is there such a thing as OpenNVR firmware?  (Read 1138 times)

• No avatar
April 10, 2017, 03:47:22 pm
Hey folks,

I'm relatively new to this IPCam world and thanks to all of you I've managed to answer most of my questions.

I do still have a couple of questions that I'm hoping you can help with.

Question 1:
I recently picked up a few of the cheap chinese IPCams that are running this firmware:
V4.02.R11.00002520.10010.244000.00000
They have an internal ID of H264 50H20L_S39.

Based on what I've read in these forums and others, I believe this means they are running the HI3516C System on a Chip. Can any of you confirm this?

Question 2:
I see that we have an open source camera firmware available. Is anyone working on an open source NVR firmware?

I'm specifically thinking that it would be great if we had firmware that supported these generic NVR boxes out of China. For example, firmware that supports the HI3535 chip would be pretty good for someone like me who just wants a a few cameras at 1080p.

For me, I'm less concerned about people viewing my cams and more concerned about opening a back door into my home network. Having an open source firmware that is known to be secure and not part of some bot army might alleviate some of the worries many people seem to have regarding the security of these generic NVRs.

And yes, I realize I can double or triple my budget and get a better NVR. I might just do that. But first I wanted to understand what the minimum viable setup looks like.

• No avatar
April 17, 2017, 10:06:25 pm
Not really (opennvr firmware)

What you'll need to do is get hold of the SDK for the chipset, so that you can compile a kernel and app's.
Once you have that, then you can start building firmware and flash.